dragonlady's den

The view from high atop the dragon's mountain in Maryland.

Friday, May 13, 2005

Murder in Illinois

It absolutely astounds me that any man could beat and stab his own daughter to death, along with her 9 year old friend. This man had just been released from jail for chasing the neighbors around with a chain saw while in a rage. This man is obviously a menace to society; he's obviously insane. Why on earth did no one see this, and why did they let him out of jail to begin with?

And there are things about this that just don't add up, in my opinion. How could he beat and stab two little girls at the same time? Why didn't the other kid run away? How could there be no witnesses in a public park while two children were being murdered? And what the hell was the deal with his stabbing his daughter in the eyes? Was there something symbolic in that?

I see no reason why child murderers and/or molesters should live. But he'll get a trial, and some bleeding heart will beg for mercy, because he's "sick." Yeah, he's sick, all right, and he'll never get better. People like him should be executed immediately, no mercy. Screw the trial, and the appeals, and all that shit. He's confessed; now let's rid the world of this evil. This slime had the nerve to say that when he began beating his daughter, the other little girl pulled a knife on him---the one he used to kill both of them. Yeah, he killed an 8 year old and a 9 year old girl in self defense. I would happily be the one to give him his lethal injection. Right in his eye.

Monday, May 09, 2005

the kids are not alright

I've been having a discussion on another forum about kids today, and how they are not alright. We're going back and forth about what the reasons are, and there are several we've discussed. One of my major problems is how our standards have eroded since I was a child.

First, decency seems to be a concept that today's youth just does not understand. Why? Because they have been raised with these eroded standards. In my day, young ladies did not wear skin-tight clothing, exposing their bellies to the point that they need to shave their pubic hair. They did not wear tops that look like nightgowns or underwear (underwear in the sense that you wear it under your clothing, as a chemise or camisole). Bra straps did not show, and they absolutely did not wear transparent clothing. They did not wear shorts so short that their butt cheeks hung out. Bathing suits left a lot to the imagination, instead of today's suits leaving very little. Today, going to the beach means being all but naked. In short, by the standards I was raised with, the goal seems to be to look as much like a slut as possible. But the kids see nothing wrong with prancing around this way. And we wonder why 12 year olds get pregnant.

No, I'm not saying it's all because of how kids dress. I'm saying that as a society, we continually lower our standards and expectations, and then wonder why we're going to hell in a handbasket. I'll address a few other reasons why I think the kids are not alright in a later post. Be prepared for my diatribe on children having children, and the negative impact of the media. For now, I've got to go to work so I can pay my many, many bills.